top of page

In 2008, the Radiopharmaceutical Sciences Council (RPSC) of the Society of Nuclear Medicine and Molecular Imaging (SNMMI) created this award as a means of recognizing individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the field of radiopharmaceutical sciences. In 2013, the Dr. Michael J Welch Foundation permanently endowed this award at the Education and Research Foundation, adding to it a lectureship by the current year winner and a travel grant for a post-doc to attend the annual SNMMI meeting and the award presentation. These awards are presented by the SNMMI at their annual meeting with winners chosen by the RPSC.

2008 – Michael J. Welch PhD
2009 – Wynn Volkert, PhD
2010 – Mark M. Goodman, PhD
2011 – Thomas Ruth, PhD
2012 – Carolyn Anderson, PhD
2013 – R. Jerry Nickels, PhD

The Michael J Welch Memorial Lecture was established in 2012 by the Siteman Cancer Center Oncologic Imaging Research Program As part of the Siteman Cancer Center’s Oncologic Imaging Research Seminar, in addition to the lecture, students have direct access to the lecturer for one on one mentoring. After the lecture, Radiological Sciences group and the lecturer meet for an infor lunch sponsored by MJW Foundation. Mike was the founding leader of the Oncologic Imaging Research Progam at the Alvin J. Siteman Cancer Center at Barnes-Jewish Hospital and Washington University School of Medicine. He was also a member of the cancer center’s senior leadership.

2013 – John A. Katzenellenbogen
2012 – Dr. Kenneth Krohn

bottom of page